Skip to main content
القائمة
تحديثات من الميدان
المواضيع

بالوكالة عن الدّولة: استيلاء الدّولة على أراضٍ في الضفة الغربيّة أداتُه عُنف المستوطنين

ملخّص التتقرير, تشرين ثاني 2021

أقامت إسرائيل في أنحاء الضفة الغربيّة أكثر من 280 مستوطنة يقيم فيها أكثر من 440 ألف مستوطن: تعترف إسرائيل رسميّاً بـ 138 مستوطنة منها (لا يشمل الأحياء الـ12 التي أنشأتها إسرائيل فوق الأراضي التي ضمّتها إلى القدس)، وهناك نحو 150 بؤرة استيطانيّة لا تحظى باعتراف رسميّ من الدّولة. ما يقارب ثُلث البؤر الاستيطانيّة أقيم خلال العقد الأخير ويسمّى معظمها "مزارع ".

تسيطر المستوطنات في الضفة الغربية على مئات الآلاف من الدّونمات وهي أراضٍ يُمنع أو يُقيّد دخول الفلسطينيّين إليها. بعض هذه الأراضي استولت عليه إسرائيل بوسائل رسميّة - عبر أوامر عسكريّة أو عبر إعلانها "أراضي دولة" أو "مناطق إطلاق نار" أو "محميّات طبيعيّة" أو عبر مصادرتها؛ وبعضها الآخر استولى عليه مستوطنون بالقوّة المجرّدة بواسطة عُنف يوميّ يمارسونه ضدّ السكّان الفلسطينيّين وممتلكاتهم.

ظاهريّاً يبدو وكأنّ هناك مساران منفصلان لا علاقة بينهما: الدّولة تستولي على أراضي الفلسطينيّين بطرق علنيّة ورسميّة حازت على تصديق المستشارين القضائيّين والقضاة، بينما المستوطنون الرّاغبون هُم أيضاً بالاستيلاء على أراضٍ لأجل تحقيق أهدافهم يستخدمون بمبادرة منهم ولأسباب تخصّهم العُنف ضدّ الفلسطينيّين. لكنّه في الواقع مسار واحد: يمارس المستوطنون عُنفهم بدعم تامّ من الدّولة - هي تتيحه وممثّلوها يشاركون في تنفيذه - وذلك كجزء من استراتيجيّة نظام الأبارتهايد الإسرائيليّ السّاعي إلى قضم المزيد والمزيد من الأراضي الفلسطينيّة لاستكمال عمليّة الاستيلاء الجارية. بوصفه كذلك، عُنف المستوطنين هو جزءٌ من سياسة حكوميّة: القوّات الرسميّة للدّولة تسمح به وتُتيح تنفيذه وتشارك فيه.

تعمل الدولة على تسوية هذا الواقع بطريقتين تكمل إحداهما الأخرى:

أ. تسوية الاستيلاء على الأراضي:

تتيح الدّولة للمستوطنين المُكوث في أراضٍ سُلبت من الفلسطينيّين بالعُنف وعوضاً عن إخلائهم تمنح سُلطاتها الدّعم لعشرات البؤر و"المزارع" الاستيطانيّة - وهذه لا تختلف عن مستوطنات أخرى "رسميّة" سوى في أنّها أقيمت بدون ترخيص رسميّ من الحكومة أو خطّة تسمح بالبناء في تلك الأراضي. من أشكال هذا الدّعم: أوعزت إسرائيل للجيش أن يحمي البؤر الاستيطانيّة وفي حالات أخرى تموّل حماية خاصّة لها؛ شقّت لها الشوارع ومدّت لبعضها شبكات الكهرباء والماء؛ تقدّم لها الدعم عبر قنوات عدّة منها وزارات الحكومة وقسم الاستيطان في المنظمة الصهيونيّة العالميّة والمجالس الإقليميّة في الضفة الغربيّة؛ تمنح أفضليّات لمشاريع اقتصاديّة - بضمنها منشآت زراعيّة ودعم مزارعين جدد ورعي القطعان وتخصّص لهُم حصص المياه وتمنحهم حماية قانونية ضد الالتماسات التي تطالب بإخلائهم.

صرّحت الدّولة في الماضي أنّها تعتزم تطبيق القانون الإسرائيليّ في البؤر الاستيطانيّة مستقبلاً وحتى أنّها التزمت بذلك أمام المجتمع الدوليّ - غير أنّ هذه الوعود لم تتحقّق. في آذار 2011 أعلنت الدّولة أنّها منذ الآن فصاعداً سوف تميّز رسميّاً بين فئتين من البؤر الاستيطانيّة: تلك التي أقيمت على أراضٍ مسجّلة كـ"أراضي دولة" أو أعلنتها هي "أراضي دولة" أو أقيمت على أراضي مسح ، وفئة البؤر الاستيطانيّة التي أقيمت على أراضٍ فلسطينيّة بمُلكيّة خاصّة - وصرّحت الدولة أنّها تعتزم إخلاء بؤر هذه الفئة فقط. الجدير بالذكر هو أنّ المحكمة العليا قبلت هذا التمييز أو التصنيف رغم أنّه لا يعتمد أيّة معايير قانونيّة. خُلاصة الأمر أنّ جميع البؤر الاستيطانيّة تقريباً بقيت في مكانها.

 

ب. تسوية الاعتداءات الجسديّة على الفلسطينيّين:

تم توثيق عُنف المستوطنين تجاه الفلسطينيّين منذ بدايات الاحتلال في تقارير ووثائق حكوميّة لا تعدّ ولا تُحصى، وفي آلاف الإفادات التي أدلى بها فلسطينيّون وجنود وفي كتب وتقارير منظمات حقوق إنسان فلسطينيّة وإسرائيليّة ودوليّة، وفي آلاف التقارير الإعلاميّة. غير أنّ هذا التوثيق المتواصل والشامل لم يترك أيّ أثر بحيث استمرّ عُنف المستوطنين تجاه الفلسطينيّين حتى أصبح منذ وقت طويل جزءاً لا يتجزّأ من روتين نظام الاحتلال في الضفة الغربيّة.

يشمل عُنف المستوطنين الضرب ورشق الحجارة والتهديد والوعيد وإحراق الحقول وإتلاف الأشجار وشتّى المزروعات وسرقة الثمار وإطلاق النيران واستهداف المنازل وتخريب السيّارات وفي حالات نادرة القتل أيضاً. يدأب مستوطنو "المزارع" الاستيطانيّة في السّنوات الأخيرة على طرد الرّعاة والمزارعين الفلسطينيّين من حقولهم ومن المراعي وإبعادهم عن مصادر المياه التي اعتادوا الاستفادة منها جيلاً وراء جيل، وفوق ذلك يقومون باستفزازات يوميّة بقصد خلق مناوشات عنيفة ويتفنّنون في دبّ الذعر بين مواشي الفلسطينيّين والتسبّب في فرارها وتشتيتها.

يمتنع الجيش ضمن سياسته عن الدّخول في مواجهات مع المستوطنين المعتدين رغم أنّه من الناحية القانونيّة يمتلك الجنود صلاحيّة توقيفهم واعتقالهم بل يقع هذا عليهم كواجب أيضاً. عموماً يفضّل الجيش إخراج الفلسطينيّين بالذات من أراضيهم الزراعيّة أو من المراعي عوضاً عن مواجهة المستوطنين؛ وفي ذلك يلجأ إلى إصدار أوامر تعلن الموقع "منطقة عسكريّة مغلقة" وتسري فقط على الفلسطينيّين أو يقوم الجنود بتفريقهم باستخدام قنابل الغاز المسيل للدّموع وقنابل الصّوت والرّصاص المعدنيّ المغلّف بالمطّاط وحتى الرّصاص الحيّ. وفي بعض الأحيان يشارك الجنود أنفسهم في الهجمات التي يشنّها المستوطنون على الفلسطينيّين أو يقفون جانباً موقف المتفرّج دون التدخّل لمنع الاعتداء.

بعد أيّ هجوم يشنّه المستوطنون ضدّ الفلسطينيّين يعمل جهاز إنفاذ القانون الإسرائيليّ كلّ ما في وُسعه للامتناع عن معالجة الأمر. من ذلك أنّه يضع العراقيل لتصعيب تقديم الشكاوى وإذا تمّ تسجيل شكوى وفتح تحقيق - وهذه حالات قليلة جدّاً - يُسارع الجهاز إلى طمس الحقائق بحيث يندر جدّاً تقديم لائحة اتّهام ضدّ مستوطن اعتدى على فلسطينيّ. أمّا الاعتداءات المُفرطة في العُنف والتي يعتبرها الجهاز استثنائيّة جدّاً فيتمّ فيها تقديم لائحة اتّهام تشمل تهماً بسيطة تافهة. وإذا انتهت محاكمة كهذه بإدانة المستوطن وهو أمرٌ نادر الحدوث فتُلقى عليه عقوبة رمزيّة فقط.

يستعرض هذا التقرير خمس حالات كنماذج تبيّن كيف يندرج عُنف المستوطنين المنهجيّ والمتواصل ضمن السّياسة الرسميّة للدّولة، وتوضح دور هذا العُنف في إتاحة الاستيلاء على مساحات شاسعة من أراضي الفلسطينيّين سواء أرضيهم الزراعيّة أو مراعيهم. في الإفادات التي جمعناها في إطار هذا البحث يحدّث الأهالي كيف قوّض عُنف المستوطنين أسس معيشة تجمّعات بأكملها وسدّ عليها سُبل كسب الرّزق. يحدّث الأهالي كيف انكمش اقتصاد التجمّعات الفلسطينيّة التقليديّ - كتربية المواشي والزراعة الموسميّة - أو هي تخلّت عنه تمامًا تحت وطأة العُنف والترهيب وفي واقع انعدام الخيارات؛ وهي فروع وفّرت لهُم في الماضي العيش الكريم والرّفاه من جيل إلى جيل. ويحدّث الأهالي كيف يهجر سكّان التجمّعات أراضي المرعى ومصادر المياه التي لطالما استفادوا منها ويقلّصون فلاحة أراضيهم الزراعيّة. هذا ما يُتيح للدّولة الاستيلاء على هذه الأراضي وتسخيرها لاحتياجاتها.

عُنف الدّولة - المنظّم الرسميّ أو غير الرسميّ - هو جزءٌ لا يتجزّأ من نظام الأبارتهايد الإسرائيليّ الطامح إلى تهويد المكان، أي سائر المنطقة الممتدّة بين النهر والبحر. يعتبر هذا النظام الأرض مورداً وُجد أساساً لخدمة الجمهور اليهوديّ ولذلك تخصّص الأرض بشكل شبه حصريّ لاحتياجات البلدات اليهوديّة القائمة من تطوير وتوسيع وإقامة بلدات يهوديّة جديدة. في المقابل يدأب نظام الأبارتهايد على تشظية المجال الفلسطينيّ وتفتيته وعلى تجريد الفلسطينيّين من أراضيهم وزجّهم في معازل ضيّقة ومكتظّة.

"المزرعة الاستيطانية أم زوكا" هي واحدة من ست "مزارع" أنشأها مستوطنون في الأغوار الشمالية خلال السنوات الخمس الأخيرة. أقيمت هذه "المزرعة" في نهاية العام 2016 في موقع كانت تقع فيه قرية فلسطينية تدعى خربة المزوقح والتي دمرتها إسرائيل بعد احتلال الضفة الغربية. وفقًا لحسابات مؤسسة "كيرم نفوت" التي أُعدت حسب طلب بتسيلم فإن مستوطني "المزرعة الاستيطانية أم زوكا" استولوا على 14,979 دونم أي نحو ثلثي مساحة المحمية الطبيعية. قام المستوطنون حتى الآن بفلاحة 99 دونم من هذه المساحة. تصوير: ايال هاروفيني, بتسيلم.
"المزرعة الاستيطانية أم زوكا" هي واحدة من ست "مزارع" أنشأها مستوطنون في الأغوار الشمالية خلال السنوات الخمس الأخيرة. أقيمت هذه "المزرعة" في نهاية العام 2016 في موقع كانت تقع فيه قرية فلسطينية تدعى خربة المزوقح والتي دمرتها إسرائيل بعد احتلال الضفة الغربية. وفقًا لحسابات مؤسسة "كيرم نفوت" التي أُعدت حسب طلب بتسيلم فإن مستوطني "المزرعة الاستيطانية أم زوكا" استولوا على 14,979 دونم أي نحو ثلثي مساحة المحمية الطبيعية. قام المستوطنون حتى الآن بفلاحة 99 دونم من هذه المساحة. تصوير: ايال هاروفيني, بتسيلم.

يقوم نظام الأبارتهايد على العُنف المنظّم والمنهجيّ تجاه الفلسطينيّين وهو عُنف يتعدّد الوكلاء القائمين على تنفيذه: الحكومة والجيش والإدارة المدنيّة والمحكمة العليا والشرطة وجهاز الأمن العام (الشاباك) ومصلحة السّجون وسُلطة الطبيعة والحدائق وغيرها. المستوطنون هُم عامل إضافيّ في هذه الشبكة التي تديرها الدّولة إذ هي تسخّر لتحقيق أهدافها عُنف المستوطنين مضافاً إلى عُنف أجهزتها الرسميّة. أحياناً يظهر عُنف المستوطنين كنُذر تسبق عُنف سُلطات الدّولة الرسميّ وأحياناً يأتي مدمجاً معه. والجدير بالذكر أنّ عُنف المستوطنين مثله كمثل عُنف الدولة - العسكريّ، هو أيضاً عُنف منظّم ومُمأسس وهو مدجّج بالوسائل ويطبّق وفقاً لاستراتيجيّة محدّدة معيّنة الهدف.

الجمع بين العُنف الرسميّ وهذا العُنف الذي يبدو في الظاهر "غير رسميّ" ولا علاقة للدّولة به، يتيح لدولة إسرائيل أن ترقُص على الحبلين: أن تحافظ من جهة على متّسع للإنكار والادّعاء أنّ "هذه أفعال المستوطنون" –وليست أفعال الجيش ولا المحاكم ولا الإدارة المدنيّة؛ وأن تحقّق هدف تجريد الفلسطينيّين من أراضيهم من جهة أخرى. لكنّ الوقائع تدحض ذلك إذ تلغي هذا المتّسع الذي تحاول الدّولة إبقاءه لفائدتها: حين يمارس المستوطنون عُنفهم بإذن وبدعم وبرعاية سلطات إسرائيل فهو يندرج ضمن عُنف الدّولة. إنّهم ليسوا مستوطنين يعملون ضدّ الدّولة بل هي الدّولة نفسُها.

Skip to main content
Menu
From the field
Topics

State Business: Israel’s misappropriation of land in the West Bank through settler violence

Summary, November 2021

Israel has built more than 280 settlements in the West Bank, which are home to more than 440,000 settlers. Of these settlements, 138 were officially established and recognized by the state (not including the 12 neighborhoods Israel built in the areas it annexed to Jerusalem), and some 150 are outposts not officially recognized by the state. About a third of the outposts have been built over the past decade, most of them referred to as “farms”.

West Bank settlements dominate hundreds of thousands of dunams [1 dunam = 1,000 square meters] to which Palestinians have limited access or none at all. Israel has taken over some of these areas using official means: issuing military orders, declaring the area “state land,” a “firing zone” or a “nature reserve”, and expropriating land. Other areas have been effectively taken over by settlers through daily acts of violence, including attacks on Palestinians and their property.

The two tracks appear unrelated: The state takes over land openly, using official methods sanctioned by legal advisors and judges, while the settlers, who are also interested in taking over land to further their agenda, initiate violence against Palestinians for their own reasons. Yet in truth, there is only one track: Settler violence against Palestinians serves as a major informal tool at the hands of the state to take over more and more West Bank land. The state fully supports and assists these acts of violence, and its agents sometimes participate in them directly. As such, settler violence is a form of government policy, aided and abetted by official state authorities with their active participation.

The state legitimizes this reality in two complementary ways: 

A.     Legalizing land takeover 

The state allows settlers to live, farm and graze livestock on land violently taken from Palestinians. Dozens of outposts and “farms” – settlements for all intents and purposes, which were built without formal authorization by the government and without plans that enable construction in them – receive support from the Israeli authorities and remain standing. Israel has ordered the military to defend the outposts or paid for their security, as well as paved roads and laid down water and electricity infrastructure for most of them. It has provided support through various government ministries, the Settlement Division of the World Zionist Organization and regional councils in the West Bank. It has also subsidized financial endeavors in the outposts, including agricultural facilities, provided support for new farmers and for shepherding, allocated water and legally defended outposts in petitions for their removal. 

In the past, the state announced its intention to enforce the law on outposts in the future and evengave the international community assurances to that effect. In March 2011, the state announced it would, from now on, make an official distinction between outposts built on land recognized as privately owned by Palestinians and land Israel considers “state land” or “survey land” (land that can be declared “state land”, although the declaration has not yet been issued). The state claimed it had only intended to  remove outposts built on privately owned Palestinian land.  This distinction, which has no legal basis, was accepted by Israel’s Supreme Court. At the end of the day, nearly all the outposts remain in place. 

Havat Ma'on - land Israel has blocked to Palestinians using settler violence

 

B.     Legitimizing physical violence against Palestinians 

Violence committed by settlers against Palestinians has been documented since the very early days of the occupation in countless government documents and dossiers, thousands of testimonies from Palestinians and soldiers, books, reports by Palestinian, Israeli and international human rights organizations, and thousands of media stories. This broad, consistent documentation has had almost no effect on settler violence against Palestinians, which has long since become part and parcel of life under the occupation in the West Bank.  

The violent acts include beating, throwing stones, issuing threats, torching fields, destroying trees and crops, stealing crops, using live fire, damaging homes and cars, and, in rare cases, homicide. In recent years, settlers in so-called farms have been violently chasing Palestinian farmers and shepherds away from their fields and from pastureland and water sources they used for generations. They initiate violent altercations on a daily basis and intimidate flocks belonging to Palestinians in order to scatter them.

The military avoids confronting violent settlers as a matter of policy, although soldiers have the authority and duty to detain and arrest them.  As a rule, the military prefers to remove Palestinians from their own farmland or pastureland rather than confront settlers, using various tactics such as issuing closed military zone orders that apply to Palestinians only, or firing tear gas, stun grenades, rubber-coated metal bullets and even live rounds.  Sometimes, soldiers actively participate in the settler attacks or look on from the sidelines. 

Israel’s inaction continues after settler attacks on Palestinians have taken place, with enforcement authorities doing their utmost to avoid responding to these incidents. Complaints are difficult to file, and in the very few cases in which investigations are in fact opened, the system quickly whitewashes them. Indictments are hardly ever filed against settlers who harm Palestinians and when they do, usually cite minor offenses, with token penalties to match in the rare instance of a conviction. 

The report presents five case studies that illustrate how continuous, systemic violence meted out by settlers is part of Israel’s official policy, driving massive takeover of Palestinian farmland and pastureland. In the testimonies collected as part of the research, Palestinians describe how this violence undermines the bedrock of Palestinian communities’ lives and diminishes their income. Residents describe how without protection, under the pressure of violence and fear and with no other choice, Palestinian communities abandon or scale back traditional vocations such as sheep and goat farming or various seasonal crops, which allowed them to make a dignified living and live comfortably for generations. Palestinian residents stay away from pastureland and water sources that once served their communities, and limit cultivation of farmland. At that point, the state can take over their land for its own purposes. 

State violence – official and otherwise – is part and parcel of Israel’s apartheid regime, which aims to create a Jewish-only space between the Jordan River and the Mediterranean Sea.  The regime treats land as a resource designed to serve the Jewish public, and accordingly uses it almost exclusively to develop and expand existing Jewish residential communities and to build new ones. At the same time, the regime fragments Palestinian space, dispossesses Palestinians of their land and relegates them to living in small, over-populated enclaves. 

The Um Zuqa farm is one of six “farms” set up by settlers in the northern Jordan Valley in the past five years. The farm was built in 2016 on a site that housed the Palestinian village of Khirbet al-Mzoqah, which Israel demolished after occupying the West Bank.According to a calculation prepared by Kerem Navot at B’Tselem’s request, settlers from Um Zuqa “farm” have taken 14,979 dunams – roughly twothirds of the nature reserve. Settlers from the farm are already cultivating 99 dunams of this land. Photo by
The Um Zuqa farm is one of six “farms” set up by settlers in the northern Jordan Valley in the past five years. The farm was built in 2016 on a site that housed the Palestinian village of Khirbet al-Mzoqah, which Israel demolished after occupying the West Bank.According to a calculation prepared by Kerem Navot at B’Tselem’s request, settlers from Um Zuqa “farm” have taken 14,979 dunams – roughly twothirds of the nature reserve. Settlers from the farm are already cultivating 99 dunams of this land. Photo by Eyal Hareuveni, B'Tselem.

The apartheid regime is based on organized, systemic violence against Palestinians, which is carried out by numerous agents:  the government, the military, the Civil Administration, the Supreme Court, the Israel Police, the Israel Security Agency, the Israel Prison Service, the Israel Nature and Parks Authority, and others. Settlers are another item on this list, and the state incorporates their violence into its own official acts of violence. Settler violence sometimes precedes instances of official violence by Israeli authorities, and at other times is incorporated into them. Like state violence, settler violence is organized, institutionalized, well-equipped and implemented in order to achieve a defined strategic goal. 

The combination of state violence and nominally unofficial violence allows Israel to have it both ways: maintain plausible deniability and blame the violence on settlers rather than on the military, the courts or the Civil Administration while advancing Palestinian dispossession. The facts, however, blow plausible deniability out of the water: When the violence occurs with permission and assistance from the Israeli authorities and under its auspices, it is state violence. The settlers are not defying the state; they are doing its bidding.