Skip to main content
السدّة في المدخل الشمالي لقرية دير نظام. تصوير إياد حدّاد، بتسيلم، 17.2.20
القائمة
تحديثات من الميدان
المواضيع

كانون الثاني - شباط 2020: الجيش يغلق مداخل خمس قرى في الضفّة الغربيّة كعقاب جماعيّ

لقد أصبح إغلاق مداخل القرى منذ زمن طويل إحدى وسائل القمع الروتينية التي تستخدمها إسرائيل ضدّ الفلسطينيّين سكّان الضفة الغربيّة. عادة يقوم الجيش بذلك بذريعة أفعال قام بها شبّان من القرية - رشق حجارة أو إلقاء زجاجات حارقة نحو سيّارات إسرائيليّة أو إطلاق نار نحو قوّات الأمن أو مواطنين إسرائيليّين. أي أنّ الجيش يعاقب جميع أهالي القرية وأهالي القرى المجاورة الذين يستخدمون الشوارع نفسها رغم أنّهم لم يرتكبوا ما يستدعي ذلك بل ولا يُشتبه أنّهم فعلوا أيّ شيء. طيلة شهري كانون الثاني وشباط 2020 أغلق الجيش بهذه الطريقة مداخل خمس قرى في الضفة الغربيّة.

رُفعت هذه القيود تدريجيّاً سوى عن قرية أوصرين وقبل أن يصل دور هذه القرية أخضعت السلطة الفلسطينيّة والجيش جميع سكّان الضفّة الغربيّة لإجراءات العزل وقيود مشدّدة على الحركة ضمن مواجهة وباء الكورونا وفي محاولة لمنع تفشّيه.

في 30.1.20 أغلق الجيش بالصّخور وأكوام التراب المدخل الرّئيسيّ لقرية أوصرين الواقعة جنوب شرق نابلس ويبلغ عدد سكّانها نحو 2,100 نسمة لكي يمنع وصول السكّان إلى الشارع الرئيسيّ. فُرض الإغلاق بذريعة أنّ أشخاصاً من القرية رشقوا حجارة نحو شارع 505 ولكنّه استمرّ مع اندلاع أزمة الكورونا. يضطرّ السكّان إلى الخروج من القرية والعودة إليها عبر أربع طرق أخرى تصلها بقريتي بيتا وعقربا. استخدام هذه الطرق وبعضها وعر وضيّق ويمرّ داخل أحياء القريتين يستغرق زمناً أطول ويكلف وقوداً أكثر بطبيعة الحال. في السّنة الماضية أغلق الجيش مدخل القرية الرئيسي طيلة 29 يوماً.

بوّابة مدخل قرية عابود بعد فتحها. تصوير إياد حدّاد، بتسيلم، 20.2.20

وفي 9.2.20 أغلق الجيش مداخل أربع قرى أخرى في منطقة رام الله دون أن يقدّم للسكّان سبب ذلك وهكذا يخضع الجميع لعقاب جماعيّ على فعل لا يعرفون حتى ما هو.

  • في قرية النبي صالح الواقعة غربيّ رام الله ويبلغ عدد سكّانها نحو 600 نسمة أغلق الجيش المدخل الرئيسيّ من جهة الشرق لمدّة خمسة أيّام. هكذا لم يبق للسكّان سوى الدخول والخروج عبر المدخل الغربيّ المؤدّي إلى طريق ترابيّ وعر يصل إلى قرية عابود، ومن هناك يضطرّون إلى متابعة طريقهم سيراً على الأقدام عبر حقول القرية لأنّ مدخلها مغلق أيضاً.
  • في قرية دير أبو مشعل الواقعة شمال غرب رام الله ويقيم فيها نحو 4,400 نسمة أغلق الجيش المدخل الرّئيسيّ طيلة ستّة أيّام فأجبِر السكّان على اللّجوء إلى طرق ترابيّة وعرة ومشوّشة تصعب قيادة السيّارة فيها.
  • في قرية عابود الواقعة غربيّ رام الله والتي يبلغ عدد سكّانها نحو 2,000 نسمة أغلق الجيش طيلة سبعة أيّام البوّابة التي كان قد نصبها على المدخل الرئيسيّ. وحيث أنّ الشوارع البديلة عبارة عن منحدرات متعرّجة فضّل السكّان خلال فترة الإغلاق قطع الحقول سيراً على الأقدام وصولاً إلى الشارع الرئيسيّ لكي يستقلّوا من هناك المواصلات العامّة إلى حيث يقصدون.
  • ● في قرية دير نظام الواقعة شمال غرب رام الله يقيم نحو 900 نسمة. للقرية ثلاثة مداخل من الشمال والشمال الغربي والجنوب الشرقي. خلال شهري كانون الثاني وشباط 2020 كان الجيش تارة يغلق وتارة يفتح المدخل الشماليّ حتى فتحه نهائيّاً في آخر شهر شباط. أمّا المدخل الشمالي الغربي فقد أغلقه الجيش في 9 شباط وفتحه في آخر شباط (في السّنة الماضية أغلق الجيش هذا المدخل عدّة مرّات من حزيران حتى آب). لا تُبقي هذه الإغلاقات للسكّان سوى المدخل الجنوبي الشرقي الذي يؤدّي إلى شارع 450 ويصل إلى القرى الفلسطينيّة في منطقة رام الله. هذا يعني أنّ على السكّان عبور حاجز والانتظار الطويل وكذلك المرور في شارع ترابيّ مشوّش يمرّ غربيّ القرية. ولأجل الوصول إلى شمال الضفّة الغربيّة يضطرّ السكّان الآن إلى السفر في طريق التفافيّ طويل.
بوّابة المدخل الغربي لقرية دير نظام. تصوير إياد حدّاد، بتسيلم، 17.2.20

رُفعت الإغلاقات تدريجيّاً في ثلاث قرى وهي النبي صالح ودير أبو مشعل وعابود ولكنّ الجيش كان لدى فتح كلّ مدخل ينصب عليه حواجز فجائيّة ويعيق السكّان. هذه القرى متاخمة ويقيم سكّانها فيما بينهم علاقات اجتماعيّة وتجاريّة وعائليّة. إضافة إلى ذلك فقد كان المسافرون بين سلفيت ورام الله يتوقّفون في هذه القرى لقضاء أغراضهم في محالّها التجاريّة وعليه فقد سبّب إغلاق المداخل خسائر ماليّة للتجّار.

تطال آثار إغلاق مداخل القرى عشرات آلاف الأشخاص في الضفة الغربيّة حيث القيود المشدّدة المفروضة على حركة السكّان تشوّش نظام حياتهم وتمسّ بقدرتهم على حسب رزقهم أو وصول الطلّاب إلى المؤسّسات التعليميّة أو الفلّاحين إلى أراضيهم الزراعيّة والمرضى إلى العيادات الصحيّة. وباختصار تتوقّف كلّ أشكال الحياة اليوميّة. لا يوجد أيّ مبرّر لإجراءات العقاب الجماعيّ التي تُدخل السكّان إلى دوّامة من البلبلة وانعدام اليقين وتثير فيهم مشاعر الإحباط علاوة على تضييع وقتهم وأموالهم. إنّها طريقة إسرائيل في استعراض قوّتها عبر تعسّف جيشها في استخدام صلاحيّاته.

في ما يلي إفادات جمعها باحثو بتسيلم الميدانيّون من عدد من الأهالي حول تشويش نظام حياتهم إثر إغلاق الطرق:

أدناه إفادة محمد أبو جيش (49 عاماً) سائق تاكسي على خطّ نابلس - أوصرين وهو متزوّج وأب لتسعة أبناء - أدلى بها في 17.2.20 أمام باحثة بتسيلم الميدانيّة سلمى الدّبعي.

منذ أن أغلقوا مدخل أوصرين أضطرّ إلى السّفر عن طريق قرية بيتا. أجمع الركّاب في مركز مدينة نابلس وأتّجه نحو شارع حوّارة ومن هناك أدخل إلى بيتا. الشوارع في داخل بيتا ضيّقة. من هناك أتابع إلى شارع كان يستخدمه المزارعون في السّابق. تمّ شقّ قبل عدّة سنوات لكنّه ضيّق ويناسب حركة سير في اتّجاه واحد فقط. إذا صادفت قبالتي سيّارة أضطرّ للانحراف إلى طرف الشارع وبسبب الأمطار وجرف التربة هناك اليوم فارق 30-40 سم بين الشارع وطرفيه، ولذلك فكلّ انحراف كهذا يُلحق الضّرر بالسيّارة.

هذه الأضرار تخيفني كثيراً لأنّ الوضع الاقتصادي صعب أصلًا وإصلاح أيّ عطب في السيّارة يكلّف كثيراً. مدخولي اليومي لا يتعدّى 150 شيكل يذهب نصفها لشراء الوقود. ماذا يتبقّى لي؟ قليل جدّاً.

أضطرّ أيضاً إلى قيادة السيّارة ببطء لأنّني أسافر داخل مناطق مأهولة وأيضاً لأنّ الشوارع ضيّقة ومليئة بالحفر بعكس شارع 505 المعبّد جيّداً بحيث يمكن القيادة بسرعة 80-90 كم في السّاعة دون أيّة مشكلة وبكلّ راحة. في شارع بيتا أقود بسرعة 40-50 كم في السّاعة لا أكثر. في الأوقات العاديّة أقلّ ثلاث نقلات واليوم بالكاد نقلة اثنتين.

أدناه إفادة وليد زيتاوي (55 عاماً) من سكّان جمّاعين متزوّج وأب لسّتة أبناء ويعمل مرشداً في مدرسة البنين الابتدائيّة في أوصرين - أدلى بها أمام باحثة بتسيلم الميدانيّة سلمى الدّبعي في 19.2.20 قائلاً:

وليد زيتاوي. صورّة قدّمها الشاهد مشكوراً.

في بداية هذا الشهر حين كنت في طريقي إلى المدرسة في أوصرين وجدت فجأة أنّ مدخلها مغلق بأكوام من الصّخور والتراب. كنت قريباً جداًّ من القرية ولكنّني اضطررت إلى الالتفاف والسّفر عن طريق قرية عقربا المجاورة. تأخّرت بسبب ذلك عن عملي وهذا يعني الخصم من راتبي.

الأجواء صعبة بسبب هذه الإغلاق. الجيش يعاقب الجميع سكّان القرية ومن يعملون فيها ولكن ما ذنبنا نحن؟ لماذا يجب تأخيرنا عن عملنا وإطالة طريقنا وتكبيدنا مصاريف زائدة؟ في الفترة الحاليّة ولأنّني أصل إلى عملي عن طريق عقربا أصبح مصروف الوقود أكبر من ذي قبل.

أدناه إفادة محمد ربيع (32 عاماً) من سكّان دير أبو مشعل وهو متزوّج ويعمل سائق شاحنة - أدلى بها في 17.2.20 أمام باحثة بتسيلم الميدانيّة سلمى الدّبعي:

في يوم الاثنين الموافق 10.2.20 تناولت فطوري وخرجت إلى عملي في نقليّات موادّ البناء من قريتي دير أبو مشعل إلى القرى المجاورة - دير نظام وعابود والنبي صالح وأحياناً إلى رام الله أيضاً.

صعدت إلى شاحنتي وقدتها حتى مدخل القرية حيث يُفترض أن أخرج من هناك إلى الشارع الوحيد الذي يربطنا بشارع 465 ولكن عندما وصلت وجدت البوّابة مغلقة وجنديّين اثنين يقفان قربها ويسمحان بالعبور للمشاة فقط. لقد كانا يعيقان المشاة أيضاً ويسألانهم شتّى الأسئلة بطريقة فظّة.

عدت إلى منزلي وقد تعكّر مزاجي. كنت محبطاً لأنّه لا توجد طريق أخرى للخروج من القرية. هناك طرق ترابيّة ولكنّها وعرة وحتى السيّارات الخصوصيّة تسافر فيها بصعوبة فكم بالحريّ الشاحنات؟ هذه شوارع تناسب فقط السيّارات تعمل بالدّفع الرّباعي. وهكذا فأنا لا أعمل منذ اليوم الأوّل للإغلاق. جميعُنا أي كلّ أهالي القرية كنّا محبوسين داخل سجن كبير لا خروج ولا دخول.

لولا أنّي كنت قد وفّرت مبلغاً قليلاً لاضطررت إلى اقتراض المال من الناس لكي أوفّر احتياجات أسرتي. أمضينا الوقت في لعب الشدّة والتجوّل هنا وهناك والنوم والأكل كثيراً بسبب التوتّر وعندما يكون الطقس جميلًا كنّا نخرج للتنزّه في الطبيعة. أوشكنا على الجنون بسبب الملل. شعور غير مُريح.

الجنود لم يتركونا حتى بعد أن فتحوا البوّابة في مساء اليوم الجمعة. منذ صباح السّبت وهم ينصبون الحواجز الفجائيّة عند مدخل القرية وخاصّة في ساعات ما بعد الظهر حين يعود الأهالي من أعمالهم. كانوا يعيقوننا لدقائق طويلة وأحياناً ربع ساعة أو نصف ساعة. بكلّ هدوء وراحة بال يشوّشون حياتنا ويعكّرون مزاجنا بالجوّ السيّء الذي يفرضونه. هكذا نعيش في هذا الغمّ الدائم.

أدناه إفادة يوسف أسمر (52 عاماً) متزوّج وأب لخمسة أبناء من سكّان بيت ريما ويعمل في الصّيانة في مدرسة في دير نظام - أدلى بها في 17.2.20 أمام باحث بتسيلم الميدانيّ إياد حدّاد، قائلاً:

يوسف أسمر. تصوير إياد حدّاد، بتسيلم، 17.2.20

يجب عليّ الوصول إلى عملي كلّ صباح في السّاعة 7:00 ولكن منذ أن أغلق الجيش البوّابات على مداخل القرى التي في طريقي إلى المدرسة تشوّش نظامي كلّه. عادة أخرج من قريتنا بيت ريما في سيّارة تمرّ عن طريق النبي صالح ومن هناك تصل إلى دير نظام ثمّ إلى عملي، ويستغرق ذلك 15 دقيقة تقريباً.

في صباح يوم الاثنين 10.2.20 وجدت أنّ الجيش قد أغلق البوّابة التي على مدخل النبي صالح وتبيّن لي أنّ بوّابة الدخول إلى دير نظام مغلقة أيضاً. اتّصلت بمديرة المدرسة وعدد من المعلّمين الذين يأتون من منطقتنا لكي أستوضح منهم هل توجد طرق بديلة. اكتشفنا أنّ الجيش أغلق أيضاً البوّابات التي تؤدّي إلى الطرق البديلة - في عابود ودير أبو مشعل على سبيل المثال. في ذلك اليوم لم نتمكّن من الوصول إلى المدرسة فعدنا إلى منازلنا.

في اليوم التالي أي الثلاثاء وصلنا إلى مدخل النبي صالح وكانت البوّابة مفتوحة ولكن نُصب عندها حاجز عسكريّ يشغله جنود يُجرون تفتيشاً على كلّ السيّارات. انتظرنا في طابور سيّارات طويل طيلة نصف ساعة حتى عبرنا. عندما وصلت إلى مدخل دير نظام الشمالي وجدت البوّابة مغلقة ولكن لحسن الحظّ كان المدخل الشمالي الغربي مفتوحاً فمررت من هناك. في ذلك الصّباح استغرقني الوصول إلى عملي ساعة تقريباً وكانت المدرسة تعمل أصلاً بدوام جزئيّ. لاحقاً أغلقوا هذا المدخل أيضاً.

في اليومين الرّابع والخامس كانت بوّابة مدخل النبي صالح مغلقة ولم نتمكّن من الوصول إلى المدرسة. في يوم الجمعة فتحوها ولكنّ الجيش ينصب هناك حاجزاً فجائيّاً أحياناً. وما زالت بوّابتان مغلقتان على دير نظام واحدة على المدخل الشمالي وواحدة على المدخل الشمالي الغربي ولذلك أضطرّ إلى الوصول إلى المدرسة عن طريق شارع حلميش الذي يؤدّي إلى المدخل الجنوبي الشرقي للقرية، علماً أنّ الجنود يعترضونني هناك دائماً ويفتّشونني. ثمّ إنّهم كثيراً ما يستفزّونني خاصّة عندما أقول لهم إنّني أعمل في مدرسة دير نظام. في إحدى المرّات أخذ أحد الجنود يهدّدني ويشتمني قال لي "طلّاب دير نظام كلاب، وكلّ من يدرّسهم كلب، بودّي أن أطلق الرّصاص على أرجلهم جميعاً. قل لهم إنّني إذا رأيت أيّاً منهم يرشق حجراً فسوف أقتله". منذ ذلك الحين توقّفت عن إخبارهم بأنّني أعمل في المدرسة أو أنّني مسافر إلى دير نظام أو عائد منها. لكي أتجنّب سماع شتائمهم وتهديداتهم أقول لهم إنّني متّجه إلى بيتلّو وهي قرية أخرى في تلك النواحي.

هذه التأخيرات تشوّش بطبيعة الحال نظام يوم العمل كلّه علاوة على أنّها تعكّر المزاج. الآن أنا أصل كلّ يوم متأخراً نصف ساعة فلا يُسعفني الوقت للقيام بكلّ التزاماتي الصباحيّة في المدرسة مثل تفريغ النفايات وتحضير المستلزمات للمعلّمين.

هذا الوضع يؤثّر على الجميع بما في ذلك التلاميذ والمعلّمون والإدارة. من الصّعب جدّاً تسيير الدّراسة في مثل هذه الظروف. لا يسعني سوى القول "ليكن ألله في عَوْن التلاميذ والمعلّمين" في هذه الفترة. وهذه ليست المرّة الأولى التي يغلقون فيها المداخل الرّئيسيّة لدير نظام. يفعل الجيش ذلك منذ سنتين وأحياناً يُغلق البوّابات لفترة طويلة دون أيّ سبب واضح أو بحجّة أنّ ولداً رشق حجراً على سياج المستوطنة المجاورة أو على الشارع الالتفافيّ. أي أنّهم يعاقبون منطقة بأكملها ويحبسون سكّانها في سجن كبير. في هذه الحالة يُصبح الجميع تحت رحمة ضابط يقرّر متى يفتح بوّابات السّجن ومتى يُغلقها.

Skip to main content
The blocked northern entrance to the village of Deir Nizam. Photo by Iyad Hadad, B’Tselem, 17 Feb. 2020
Menu
From the field
Topics

Jan.-Feb. 2020: Military blocks five West Bank villages as collective punishment

Blocking access to West Bank villages has long since become a routine method of oppression that Israel uses against Palestinian residents of the West Bank. The military usually blames the blocks on alleged actions by young men from the particular village – throwing stones or Molotov cocktails at Israeli vehicles, or shooting at Israeli security forces or civilians. In one fell swoop, the military punishes all residents of the village and those near it, who use these roads, even though they have done nothing wrong nor are they suspected of anything. Over the course of January and February 2020, the military blocked the entrances to five villages in the West Bank.

The restrictions were gradually removed, with the exception of the village of Osarin, where the entrance has remained blocked ever since unprecedented limitations on movement were imposed on all West Bank residents (by the military and by the Palestinian Authority) in an attempt to control the spread of the coronavirus.

The gate at the entrance to the village of ‘Abud after it was opened. Photo by Iyad Hadad, B’Tselem, 20 Feb. 2020

The main entrance to Osarin, a village to the southeast of Nablus with a population of some 2,100, was closed on 30 January 2020, on the grounds that locals had thrown rocks at Route 505. The block, still in place due to the corona crisis, was made using boulders and dirt mounds. It obstructs access to the main road, and local residents are forced to use one of four other roads that connect the village to the villages of Beita and ‘Aqraba. Travel via these routes, parts of which are on narrow, rough roads that wind through village homes, is longer and more costly. The military blocked the main entrance to the village for 29 days last year.

On 9 February 2020, the military blocked the entrances to four more villages in the Ramallah area, without offering any explanation to local residents, who remained at a loss as to why they were being collectively punished.

  • In the village of a-Nabi Saleh, northwest of Ramallah, which has some 600 residents, the military blocked the main, eastern entrance, for five days. Residents were forced to enter and exit the village through the western entrance, where a rough dirt road leads to the village of ‘Abud. From there, they had to proceed on foot through village fields as the entrance to ‘Abud was also blocked.
  • In the village of Deir Abu Mash’al, northwest of Ramallah, which has a population of roughly 4,400, the military blocked the main entrance for six days, forcing residents to use rough, unpaved roads that are difficult to drive on.
  • About 2,000 people live in the village of ‘Abud, northwest of Ramallah. The military closed the gate it had installed at the main entrance to the village for seven days. Alternate routes to the village are steep and winding, which is why locals preferred to cross the fields on foot, get to the main road and continue to their destinations by public transportation.
  • The village of Deir Nizam, northwest of Ramallah, has some 900 residents. There are three access points to the village – north, northwest and southeast. The military intermittently closed the northern entrance through January and February, finally reopening it in late February. It blocked the northwest entrance from 9 February until the end of the month, when it reopened it as well (Last year, the military intermittently closed this road from June to August). The blocks left residents with access only to the southeastern entrance, which leads to Route 450 – a road that connects Palestinian villages to the city of Ramallah and involves travel through a checkpoint, multiple delays and passage through a narrow, rough agricultural road on the western side of the village. Residents now have to take a long detour to get to the northern West Bank.
The gate at the western entrance to Deir Nizam. Photo by Iyad Hadad, B’Tselem, 17 Feb. 2020

The blocks were gradually removed in a-Nabi Saleh, Deir Abu Mash’al and ‘Abud. Instead of every block that was opened, the military set up flying checkpoints where it detained locals. The affected villages are located in close proximity to one another and have close trade, work, family and social relations. In addition, passengers traveling between Salfit and Ramallah would stop and patronize businesses in these villages. Because of the blocks, local business owners suffered financial losses.

The closures impact all these aspects of life and harm tens of thousands of West Bank residents, with the extreme restrictions on movement severely disrupting their lives and impairing their ability to make a living, get to school, farm their land, receive medical treatment or simply maintain a reasonable daily routine.

This form of collective punishment, which forces local residents to live in conditions of uncertainty and frustration and waste precious time and money, is completely unjustifiable and an abuse of military force.

Muhammad Abu Jeish, 49, a married father of nine from Beit Dajan, is a taxi driver on the Nablus-Osarin line. In a testimony he gave B’Tselem field researcher Salma a-Deb’i on 17 February 2020, he said:

Muhammad Abu Jeish, 49, a married father of nine from Beit Dajan, is a taxi driver on the Nablus-Osarin line. In a testimony he gave B’Tselem field researcher Salma a-Deb’i on 17 February 2020, he said:

Ever since they blocked the entrance to Osarin, I’ve had to drive through the village of Beita. I pick up passengers in downtown Nablus, take the Huwarah road and, from there, go into Beita and drive on the narrow winding roads inside the village. From there, I continue on a road that was used by farmers in the past. It was paved a few years ago, but it’s a narrow road that can only accommodate one-way traffic. If a car comes ahead, I have to veer to the shoulder. Because of the rain and the land erosion, there’s now a 30-40 centimeter gap between the road and the shoulder, and every time I have to veer like that, the car gets damaged.

I’m very worried about this damage, because it’s already tough financially and every repair costs a fortune. I make up to 150 NIS (~42 USD) a day, and half of it goes on gas. What do I have left? Very little.

I also have to drive slowly because I go through residential areas, and also because the roads are narrow and full of potholes, unlike Route 505, which is a wide and properly paved road. On that road, you can do 80-90 kilometers an hour easily. It’s super convenient. On the Beita road, I do 40-50 kilometers an hour, at best. In ordinary times, I make an average of three trips a day, and now I barely make one or two.

Walid Zitawi, 55, a married father of six from Jamma’in, is a counselor at the Osarin boys’ elementary school. In a testimony he gave B’Tselem field researcher Salma a-Deb’i on 19 February 2020, he said:

Walid Zitawi. Photo courtesy of Zitawi

At the beginning of the month, when I was on my way to the school in Osarin, I suddenly saw piles of rocks and dirt at the entrance to the village. I’d almost made it, but I had to turn around and drive through the nearby village of ‘Aqraba. It made me late for work, and that’s going to be deducted from my pay.

The blocks have created a bleak mood. The military is punishing everyone – all the residents of the village and everyone working there. What did we do? Why should we be delayed on the way to work and have to pay more? I’m now spending more money every day on gas to get to work through ‘Aqraba.

Muhammad Rabi’ is a 32-year-old married truck driver from Deir Abu Mash’al. He spoke about the situation in a testimony he gave B’Tselem field researcher Iyad Hadad on 17 February 2020:

On Monday, 10 February 2020, I had breakfast and went to work. I transport construction materials between my village, Deir Abu Mash’al, and nearby villages such as Deir Nizam, ‘Abud or a-Nabi Saleh, and sometimes Ramallah, too.

I got into my truck and drove to the entrance to the village, which is where the only road that connects us to the main road, Route 465, starts. But when I got there, the gate was closed and there were soldiers who only let pedestrians through. The soldiers delayed the pedestrians, too, and asked them questions rudely.

I went back home in a bad mood. I was frustrated, because there’s no other exit I can take. There are some dirt roads, but they’re rough. Private cars can hardly get through, let alone a truck. They’re only good for four-by-fours. So, I’ve been out of work since the first day of the block. All of us, all the residents of the village, were trapped inside a big jail. No one coming in and no one going out.

If I hadn’t put some money away, I would have had to borrow money for my family’s needs. We passed the time playing cards, going out here and there, binge-eating from the stress and sleeping. On nice days, we took nature walks. We went crazy with boredom. It was a very unpleasant feeling.

Even after they opened the gate, on Friday evening, the soldiers wouldn’t leave us alone. Starting Saturday morning, they put up flying checkpoints at the entrance to the village, especially in the afternoon, when people get home from work. They delayed us for a long time, sometimes 15 or 30 minutes. They seemed very smug, completely unbothered by the fact that they were disrupting our lives and creating a bleak mood. That’s how we have to live.

Yusef Asmar, 52, a married father of five from Beit Rima, works as a caretaker at the Deir Nizam high school. In a testimony he gave B’Tselem field researcher Iyad Hadad on 17 February 2020, he said:

Yusef Asmar. Photo by Iyad Hadad, B’Tselem, 17 Feb. 2020

I have to be at work every day at 7:00 A.M. Since the military closed the gates at the entrances to the villages on my way to school, my routine has been completely disrupted. Usually, I drive from my village, Beit Rima, through a-Nabi Saleh and from there to Deir Nizam, where I work. It takes about 15 minutes.

On Monday morning, 10 February 2020, I suddenly discovered the military had closed the gate at the entrance to a-Nabi Saleh, and I found out the gate at the entrance to Deir Nizam was also closed. I called the school administration and a few teachers who come from my area to find out if there were alternative routes. We discovered the military had closed the gates in other villages, where the alternative roads are, such as ‘Abud and Deir Abu Mash’al. We couldn’t get to school that day and we all went home.

The next day, Tuesday, when we got to the entrance to a-Nabi Saleh, the gate was open but there was a military checkpoint, and the soldiers searched and checked every car. There was a long line, and it took me half an hour to get through. When I got to the northern entrance to Deir Nizam, I saw the gate there was closed, but luckily, the northwestern entrance was open and I went through there. It took me about an hour to get to work that morning, and we didn’t have a full school day that day. After that, they closed that entrance, too.

On Wednesday and Thursday, the gate at the entrance to a-Nabi Saleh was closed, and we couldn’t make it to school. On Friday, it opened, but sometimes the military sets up flying checkpoints there. The two gates at the northern and northwestern entrance to Deir Nizam are still closed, so I have to drive to school on the Halamish road, which leads to the southeastern entrance to the village. I always get stopped and searched by soldiers there. The soldiers there often testy, especially if I tell them I work at the school in Deir Nizam. One time, one of them started threatening and swearing, saying: “The students in Deir Nizam are dogs. Everyone who teaches at your school is a dog, too. I want to shoot their legs. Tell them that if I see one of them throwing a stone, I’ll kill him”. Since then, I stopped saying I work at the school. I’m either going to Deir Nizam or coming from there. I say I’m going to Beitillu, another village on the same road, so I don’t have to hear the swearing and threats.

These delays disrupt the whole workday, of course, and bring my mood down. Now I arrive about a half-hour late every day, and I don’t have enough time to do everything that needs to get done in the morning, like removing waste and getting the teachers the supplies they need.

The situation has affected everyone, including the students, teachers and administration. It’s very difficult to run classes this way. I hope God helps the students and the teachers during this time. This isn’t the first time the gates at the main entrances to Deir Nizam have been closed. The military started doing it two years ago. Sometimes, it closes the gates for a long time for no apparent reason, or on the pretext that one kid threw a stone at the fence of the nearby settlement or the bypass road. And then they punish the whole area and keep everybody in a big jail. In this kind of situation, everyone’s life is at the mercy of whatever mood some officer is in, who decides when he feels like opening the prison gates or shutting them.