Skip to main content
سكان خربة حمصة بين أنقاض تجمّعهم، 4 تشرين الثاني 2020. تصوير: سريت ميخائيلي، بتسيلم
القائمة
تحديثات من الميدان
المواضيع

كلمة مدير عامّ بتسيلم أمام لجنة حقوق الإنسان في البرلمان الأوروبيّ

أدناه نصّ الخطاب كاملاً

قبل أسبوعين في الثالث من تشرين الثاني نفّذت إسرائيل واحدة من أكبر عمليّات الهدم في السّنوات العشر الأخيرة حيث قامت خلال ساعات بهدم خربة حُمصة وهي تجمّع سكّانيّ فلسطينيّ يقع في الأغوار الشماليّة. بذلك شرّدت إسرائيل 74 شخصاً بضمنهم 41 طفلاً. عشرات المنازل والمرافق ومصادر المعيشة جرى تدميرها بالكامل.

هذه المعاناة ليست من نصيب حُمصة وحدها إذ استهدفت إسرائيل عشرات التجمّعات السكّانيّة الفلسطينيّة في شتّى أنحاء الضفة الغربيّة المحتلّة. إنّها سياسة التهجير القسريّ الإجراميّة حيث تتعمّد إسرائيل تحويل حياة سكّان هذه التجمّعات إلى كابوس دائم لكي تجبرهم على الاستسلام والرّحيل. إنّه كابوس سنوات من ظروف حياتية لا تُحتمل كعدم الارتباط بشبكة الكهرباء وعدم الحصول على مياه جارية؛ سنوات من الهدم والاضطرار إلى مغادرة منزلك مؤقتاً - ريثما تُنهي القوّات الإسرائيليّة تدريباتها على أرضك والعُنف المتواصل الذي يمارسه المستوطنون بدعم من قوّات الأمن الإسرائيليّة. كلّ عُنف الدّولة المنظّم هذا نجده أحياناً قد تكثّف واختُزل في بضع ساعات سوداء مثلما حدث في حُمصة. إنّها جريمة حرب سواء استغرق تنفيذها سنوات أو بضع ساعات فقط.

في ردّه وصف الاتّحاد الأوروبيّ الحدث بأنّه "توجُّه مؤسف" وقال إن "مثل هذه التطوّرات تشكّل عائقاً أمام حل الدولتين".

دعوني أقولها بوُضوح: إسرائيل تعلم بحُكم تجربتها منذ عشرات السّنين أنّ أسوأ ما يمكن أن تواجهه هو الإعلان عن القلق بمثل هذه التعبيرات التي لا تمسّ صُلب الموضوع. الشوارع التي تمرّ منها الجرّافة الإسرائيلية في طريقها لهدم منزل فلسطينيّ آخر لا حول له ولا قوّة كلّها معبّدة بهذه الخطابة الفارغة. كلّ مرّة تُستخدم فيها العبارات المهذّبة عوضاً عن تسمية الجرائم بمسمياتها تستمدّ منها إسرائيل جسارة لمُواصلة سياسات اضطهاد الفلسطينيّين وقمعهم بالعُنف وسلب ممتلكاتهم. هذا الإذعان الدوليّ المجمّل بكلام لا معنى له عن "حلّ الدولتين" هو العمود الفقريّ لواقع غير ديمقراطيّ في جوهره نعيشه الآن أي واقع الدّولة الواحدة.

يعلم الجميع - في العواصم الأوروبيّة وفي هذا البرلمان أيضاً - أنّ المزيد من التصريحات لن يوقف الهدم القادم. عندما تخلو السّطور من أيّ شيء لا تتكبّد إسرائيل حتى عناء قراءة ما بين السّطور لكي تميّز الضوء الأخضر يشير لها أن استمرّي في اضطهاد الفلسطينيّين. وبدون نتائج وعواقب حقيقيّة سيظلّ هذا الضوء الأخضر يُرسل إشعاعه.

حُمصة لم تكن الأولى ولن تكون الأخيرة طالما الإفلات من العقوبة هو القاعدة. تعاني التجمعات الفلسطينية في كافة أنحاء الأغوار من تنكيل مشابه فيما تستمر إسرائيل في إقامة المزيد من البؤر الاستيطانية. في القدس تُجبر الأسر الفلسطينيّة على إخلاء منازلها لكي يسكن فيها مستوطنون يهود. على بُعد بضعة كيلومترات شرقاً ينتظر تجمّع خان الأحمر دوره. في تلال جنوب الخليل تترقّب التجمّعات الفلسطينيّة بخشية قرار الحُكم المنتظر أن تصدره محكمة العدل العليا ليختم معركة خاضوها طوال عشرين سنة لأجل البقاء على أراضيهم. إنّها محكمة عادلة لدرجة أنّها لم تُصدر أبداً حكماً ضدّ جهاز التخطيط "الكافكائيّ" الذي تديره إسرائيل في الضفة الغربيّة والمصمّم خصّيصاً لمنع التطوير الفلسطينيّ من جهة وإصدار رُخص لبناء وتوسيع المستوطنات من جهة أخرى. ومن خلال قيامها بشرعنة كلّ هذا تشكّل أعلى الهيئات القضائيّة في إسرائيل العامل الرّئيسيّ الذي يمكّن إسرائيل من انتهاك القانون على نحو صارخ يتجسّد في سياسة التهجير القسريّ.

هذا كلّه يحدث منذ عشرات السّنين - وما زال يحدث بعد أن وضعت إسرائيل حاليّاً على الأقلّ خطّة الضمّ الرسميّ لأجزاء من الضفة الغربيّة جانبًا. لا فرق أن يكون ضمّ الأراضي فعليّاً بحُكم الأمر الواقع أم رسميّاً بحُكم القانون لأنّ المكانة القانونية للأراضي الفلسطينيّة لم تشكّل يوماً عائقاً أمام إسرائيل في الدّفع بمصالحها على حساب حقوق الفلسطينيّين. من الواضح أنّه لو اكترثت إسرائيل للقانون الدوليّ أو احترمت حقوق الإنسان لما بنت أكثر من 250 مستوطنة يقيم فيها اليوم ما يقارب الـ600,000 إسرائيليّ.

هل تحتاج أوروبا حقّاً إلى إعلان الضمّ الرسميّ لكي ترى الواقع كما هو؟ كم من سنوات الاحتلال المستديم وكم من التصريحات العلنيّة من أفواه قادة إسرائيليّين، كم من مشاريع البُنى التحتيّة وكم من المستوطنين تحتاج أوروبا لكي تفتح عينيها وتُبصر واقع سيطرة إسرائيل الدّائمة على كلّ شيء وكلّ إنسان بين النهر والبحر؟ مئة سنة احتلال؟ مليون مستوطن؟ ماذا ينتظر الاتحاد الأوروبيّ؟

يمكن للاتحاد الأوروبيّ أن يُدخل في حساب سياساته الخارجيّة عواقب انتهاكات إسرائيل لحقوق الإنسان وقد سبق لأوروبا أن استخدمت نفوذها كرافعة ناجحة في السّابق. التقاعس عن ذلك خيار سياسيّ يقوض التزام أوروبا بحقوق الإنسان ويُضعف القواعد التي يقوم عليها النظام الدوليّ؛ والتقاعُس عن ذلك يطبّع الاضطهاد وينزع إنسانيّة الفلسطينيّين - لأنّه كما هو واضح لم يحدث أن تمّت مساءلة أو محاسبة أحد جرّاء اضطهادهم الأبدي. لا عند تدمير تجمّع بأكمله واقتلاعه من أساسه ولا عند إطلاق الرّصاص الحيّ على مئات المتظاهرين على امتداد شريط غزّة الحدوديّ ولا عندما مُحيت من الوجود عائلات بأكملها عقب قصف منازلها خلال القصف المكثّف لغزّة في العام 2014. لا الآن ولا من قبل أبداً.

هناك مسؤوليّات تقع على عاتق أوروبّا. إنّها الجسم الدوليّ الأكبر من حيث حرصه الجوهريّ على الديمقراطيّة وحكم القانون. وفي جوار أوروبا تماماً تحدث منذ سنين وفي وضح النهار انتهاكات صارخة وممنهجة لحقوق الإنسان. دعوا الخطابة الفارغة جانباً. انظروا إلى الواقع كما هو. دافعوا عن القيم الإنسانيّة الكونيّة التي نصّت عليها القوانين في أعقاب الحرب العالميّة الثانية. دافعوا عن حقوق الفلسطينيّين. لقد آن الأوان.

Skip to main content
Khirbet Humsah residents amidst the ruins of their community. 4 November 2020. Photo by Sarit Michaeli, B'Tslem.
Menu
From the field
Topics

Hagai El-Ad's address at the European Parliament Committee on Human Rights, 16 Nov. 2020

 

Two weeks ago, on November 3rd, Israel carried out one of its biggest demolition operations in a decade. Khirbet Humsah, an entire Palestinian community in the northern Jordan valley, was demolished within hours. Seventy-four people were left homeless, 41 of them children. Tens of structures, people’s homes and livelihood, were destroyed.

Humsah is not alone. For years, Israel has been targeting dozens of Palestinian communities throughout the occupied West Bank. It is a criminal policy of forcible transfer. Israel is turning the lives of these communities into a prolonged nightmare, in order to force them to give up and leave. A nightmare of years of hardship without running water or a connection to the power grid, of home demolitions, of having to repeatedly vacate your home so Israeli troops can train on your land, of ongoing violence by settlers backed by Israeli security forces.

And sometimes, all this organized state violence is condensed into a few dark hours, as happened in Humsah. But whether it takes years or mere hours, it is a war crime.

The European Union has responded by calling this a “regrettable trend” and saying that “such developments constitute an impediment towards the two-state solution”.

Let me be clear: Israel knows, from decades of experience, that the worst it will have to deal with is such inconsequential expressions of concern. Israeli bulldozers on their way to demolish the next home of a defenseless Palestinian are driving on roads paved with such empty rhetoric. Every time euphemisms are used instead of calling crimes by their proper name, it emboldens Israel to continue its policies of oppression, dispossession, and violence against Palestinians. International acquiescence, decorated by meaningless talk of a “two-state solution”, is the backbone of the inherently undemocratic one-state reality we live in.

Everyone knows – in European capitals and in this parliament – that more statements will not stop the next demolition. When the lines have nothing in them, Israel doesn’t even have to read between them to recognize a green light to continue oppressing Palestinians. Without real consequences, that green light will continue to shine.

Humsah was not the first. And as long as impunity is the norm, it will not be the last. Everywhere in the Jordan valley, Palestinian communities face similar predicaments, while at the same time Israel established more and more settlement points. In Jerusalem, Palestinian families are forced out of their homes so Jewish settlers can move in. A few kilometers to the east, the community of Khan al-Ahmar is awaiting its turn. In the South Hebron Hills, Palestinian communities fear, after struggling for 20 years to stay on their land, the forthcoming ruling by Israel’s High Court of Justice. A court so just that it has never ruled against Israel’s Kafkaesque planning regime in the West Bank – a regime tailored to forbidding Palestinian development while issuing permits to build and expand Israeli settlements. By legitimizing all this, Israel’s highest court functions as a key enabler of flagrantly illegal policies meant to forcibly transfer Palestinians.

All this has been happening for decades, and continues also after Israel recently set aside – at least for the time being – its plan to formally annex parts of the West Bank. De-jure or de-facto, the formal status of Palestinian land has never stopped Israel from promoting its interests at the expense of Palestinians’ rights. Clearly, if Israel cared about international law or respecting human rights, it would not have built more than 250 settlements in which some 600,000 Israelis already live.

Does Europe really need an announcement of de-jure annexation to see reality for what it is? How many years of prolonged occupation, how many explicit statements by Israeli leaders, how many infrastructure projects, how many settlers does it take for Europe to wake up to the reality of Israel’s permanent control of everything and everyone between the Jordan river and the Mediterranean sea? A century of occupation? A million settlers? What is it that the EU is waiting for?

Consequences for human rights violations can be introduced through European foreign policy, by effectively using Europe’s considerable leverage. Clearly, the decision to not do so is a political choice. It undermines Europe’s commitment to human rights and weakens the rules-based international order. It normalizes oppression and dehumanizes Palestinians, because – apparently – no one has to be held accountable for their permanent subjugation. Not when an entire community is razed to the ground, not when hundreds of demonstrators are shot with live bullets along the Gaza fence, not when dozens of families were wiped out in their own homes in the massive attack on Gaza in 2014. Not now, not ever.

Europe has international responsibilities. It is the most significant international stakeholder committed, at its core, to democracy and to the rule of law. Grave, systemic human rights violations have been going on for years, in broad daylight, in Europe’s neighborhood. Put the empty rhetoric aside. See reality for what it is. Stand up for the universal values enshrined in law in the aftermath of the Second World War. Protect the rights of Palestinians. The time is now.