بلا حسيب أو رقيب: كيف تخلّ إسرائيل بواجب دفع التعويضات للفلسطينيين عن أضرار ألحقتها بهم قوّات الأمن

بلا حسيب أو رقيب: كيف تخلّ إسرائيل بواجب دفع التعويضات للفلسطينيين عن أضرار ألحقتها بهم قوّات الأمن

بلا حسيب أو رقيب: كيف تخلّ إسرائيل بواجب دفع التعويضات للفلسطينيين عن أضرار ألحقتها بهم قوّات الأمن

ملخص التقرير, آذار 2017

منذ أن اندلعت الانتفاضة الثانية - في أيلول 2000، وحتى نهاية شهر شباط 2017، قتلت قوّات الأمن 4,868 فلسطينيًا لم يشاركوا في القتال. ثلث هؤلاء (1,793) كانوا تحت سنّ الثامنة عشر. ناهيك عن آلاف المصابين، وآلاف المنازل المهدّمة، ومئات آلاف الدونمات من الأراضي الزراعية التي جرى تخريبها.

مقابل هذا الواقع، ضمنت إسرائيل لنفسها إعفاءً تامًّا تقريبًا من دفع التعويضات عن هذه الأضرار. وبدلاً من توفير فرصة حقيقيّة أمام الفلسطينيين الذين أصابتهم قوّات الأمن لتقديم دعاوى التعويضات في المحاكم الإسرائيلية، اكتفت الدولة بمظهر شكليّ لا غير: من جهة أولى، توسيع الإعفاء القائم في القانون بشأن الحالات الناجمة عن "عملية قتاليّة" وتأويل المحاكم لهذا المصطلح، ومن جهة ثانية سلسلة من القيود الإجرائية والإثباتية يحدّدها القانون والسوابق القضائية – وكلاهما يخفضان إلى حدّ الصفر احتمال تلقّي المدّعين الفلسطينيين تعويضًا عن الأضرار اللاحقة بهم.

دفع التعويضات للضحايا عن إصابات في أجسادهم أو ممتلكاتهم ليس منّة من الدولة، وإنّما هو واجبها الذي تنصّ عليه أحكام القانون الدولي. عدم دفع التعويضات ينطوي على انتهاك فادح لحقوق الإنسان لسكّان المناطق المحتلة، لأنه يمسّ بفرصتهم لتلقّي العون عقب انتهاك حقوقهم الأساسية: الحق في الحياة، الحق في سلامة الجسد، وحق الملكية. حرمانهم من حق تلقّي التعويض مثله كمثل انتهاك الحقّ نفسه: حقوق الإنسان لا يقتصر معناها على نصّها في قانون أو ميثاق دولي أيًّا كان – ففي غياب العقوبات على انتهاكه يصبح الحقّ فارغًا من المضمون، والمسؤولون عن انتهاكه لا يجدون أية مصلحة في تغيير سياساتهم.

خلفية

وفقًا للقانون، تتحمّل الدولة مسؤولية الأضرار الناجمة عن الإهمال. ولكنّ القانون يعفي الدولة إذا تسبّبت الأضرار جرّاء "عملية قتالية". يستند هذا الإعفاء إلى فرضيّة مفادها أنّه في أوقات الحرب تختلف احتمالات التعرّض للخطر وكذلك نطاق الأضرار اختلافًا كبيرًا عنها في الأيام العاديّة. تتميّز المعارك بظروف ضاغطة وأحداثًا غير مرتقبة، ولذا فإن قانون الأضرار لا يصلح لمعالجة الحوادث التي تحصل خلالها.

في سنوات التسعين، أثناء الانتفاضة الأولى وفي أعقابها، قدّم سكّان المناطق المحتلة آلاف دعاوى الأضرار في المحاكم الإسرائيلية مطالبين بتعويضهم عن الأضرار التي ألحقتها بهم قوّات الأمن الإسرائيلية خارج إطار "عملية قتالية". كانت تلك دعاوى تتعلّق بأضرار نجمت عن إطلاق نيران بشكل مخالف للقانون – وبضمنها حالات موت وإصابات، عن تخريب الممتلكات، عن العنف الشديد، عن التعذيب أثناء التحقيقات لدى "الشاباك"، عن انفجار مخلّفات الذخيرة التي تركها الجيش في الميدان، وغير ذلك. تقديم ومتابعة تلك الدعاوى من قبَل الفلسطينيين اقترن بتكاليف باهظة، واستمرّ لسنوات طويلة، لاقى خلالها المدّعون مشاقّ كبيرة في مواجهة البيروقراطية. لهذا كلّه، كثيرًا ما اختار الفلسطينيون تسوية المسألة بقبول مبالغ قليلة لم تعكس مدى الأضرار الذي ألحقت بهم.

ولكي تتجنّب الدولة دفع حتى تلك المبالغ القليلة، بدأت في النصف الثاني من التسعينيّات بالاجتهاد على مستويات عدّة بهدف توسيع الإعفاء من المسؤولية عن الأضرار التي ألحقتها قوّات الأمن بسكّان المناطق المحتلة. وقد تكثّفت تلك الاجتهادات في أعقاب اندلاع الانتفاضة الثانية. مع السنين عدّلت الكنيست القانون عدّة مرّات، ووسّعت المحاكم بمبادرة منها إعفاء الدولة من دفع التعويضات. نتيجة لهذه التغييرات سُدّت في وجه سكّان المناطق كلّ فرصة تقريبًا للحصول على تعويضات - حتى في الحالات التي لا علاقة لها بتاتًا بالعمليات القتالية، مثل عمليات ضبط النظام الصرفة وحوادث النهب والاعتداءات.

مسوّغات الدولة لإعفاء نفسها – والردّ عليها

تسوّغ الدولة رفضها دفع التعويضات للفلسطينيين المتضرّرين على يد قوّات الأمن بادّعات أساسية ثلاثة: أنّ الإعفاء الذي كفله القانون لدى "عملية قتالية"، والذي عملت به المحاكم، كان أضيق ممّا ينبغي وتجاهل طبيعة الانتفاضتين الأولى والثانية. نتيجة لذلك، اضطرّت الدولة لدفع تعويضات في حالات غير مبرّرة؛ أنّ الدولة لا تستطيع فحص الحقائق في ادّعاءات المدّعين الفلسطينيين، وفي بعض الحالات لا يمكنها حتى الوصول إلى طرف خيط لتبدأ منه الدفاع عن نفسها في مواجهة تلك الدعاوى؛ أنّ الإعفاء منصوص عليه في القانون، وأنّه قد جرت العادة في وقت النزاع المسلّح أن "يتحمّل كلّ طرف الأضرار"، ولذلك فعلى السلطة الفلسطينية – كأيّ دولة أخرى – أن تتحمّل هي الأضرار التي لحقت بالفلسطينيين.

الادّعاءات الثلاثة أعلاه لا أساس لها. فأولاً، الإعفاء الذي كفله القانون لدى "عملية قتالية" قد توسّع كثيرًا مع السنين على يد المحاكم وقبل أن تُستكمَل إجراءات التشريع، إذ أدخل القضاة تدريجيًّا تحت هذا التعريف المزيد والمزيد من أنواع الحوادث، وفي بعض الحالات تنازلوا مسبقًا عن فحص ملابسات الحادثة وضمن ذلك عن التساؤل ما إذا تبدّى خطر يهدّد حياة الجنود أو سلامتهم الجسدية. علاوة على ذلك، جزء لا يستهان به من العمليات التي قامت بها قوّات الأمن في المناطق، في الانتفاضة الأولى كما في الثانية، كانت عمليات ضبط نظام عاديّة: الوقوف في الحواجز، الاعتقالات، فرض حظر التجوّل وتطبيق الحظر، تفريق المظاهرات، وغير ذلك. كثير من الفلسطينيين أصيبوا تحديدًا في مثل هذه العمليات، والتي لا تعتبَر عمليات قتالية، ولذا فلا مبرّر بتاتًا لمنح الدولة إعفاءً من الدفع لقاء الأضرار التي حصلت خلال تلك العمليات.

وثانيًا، بعض التعديلات التي أدخلت مع السنين على القانون، وبعض قرارات المحاكم، جاءت – ظاهريًّا – كردّ على صعوبات أشارت إليها الدولة، ولكنّ الدولة واصلت الإشارة إلى الصعوبات نفسها بعد إجراء تلك التعديلات أيضًا. ومع ذلك فالمشكلة الأساسية في هذا الادّعاء هي أنه يناقض موقف الدولة، المعلن صراحة في سياقات أخرى، ومفاده أنها تنفذ بنجاح وبتفانٍ تحقيقات جنائية ناجعة وفعّالة في حوادث مشابهة أثيرت فيها الشبهات بأنّ الجنود تصرّفوا خلافًا للقانون. ذلك، رغم أن التحقيقات الجنائية معقدة أكثر من تقصّي الحقائق في إطار دعاوى الأضرار، وسقف الإثبات المطلوب فيها أعلى بكثير. حين الحديث عن هذه التحقيقات – تتباهى الدولة أنها نجحت في التغلّب على تلك الصعوبات نفسها. لا تتفق بتسيلم مع الادّعاء القائل بأنّ هذه التحقيقات تجري حقًّا وفعلاً، ولكن هذا الأمر يُظهر كم هي نفعية ادّعاءات الدولة: فمن جهة يلائمها أن تتباهى بنجاعة جهاز تطبيق القانون وقدرته على إنجاز تحقيقات فعّالة في الحوادث التي أصيب فيها فلسطينيون على يد قوّات الأمن؛ ومن جهة أخرى تدّعي – حين يلائمها ذلك - أنها تواجه صعوبات في ذلك. ثالثًا، لا يمكن التعامل مع الفلسطينيين وكأنّهم مواطنو دولة أجنبيّة يمكنها تعويض مصابيها والتوصّل إلى ترتيبات دفع مع إسرائيل. لا يوجد هنا طرفان متساويان في حالة حرب بينهما، فالحديث هنا يدور عن وضع احتلال. أيضًا بعد اتفاقيات أوسلو ما زالت إسرائيل سلطة احتلال في الضفة الغربية، وعليه فسكّان الضفة الفلسطينيون – وبضمنهم أولئك القاطنون في شرقيّ القدس، التي ضمّتها إسرائيل – يُعتبرون "سكّان محميّون". وفي قطاع غزة أيضًا، بعد "فكّ الارتباط"، تواصل إسرائيل السيطرة على مستويات كثيرة من حياة السكّان اليومية، وهي تدير في أراضي القطاع حملات عسكرية عودًا وتكرارًا. والحالة هذه، لا تستطيع إسرائيل أن تلقي على السلطة الفلسطينية بالمسؤولية عن الإصابات التي تسبّبت فيها هي نفسها، باعتبارها – في نظر إسرائيل – دولة كأيّ دولة ذات سيادة. الصلاحيات التي نقلتها إسرائيل إلى السلطة الفلسطينية في أعقاب اتفاقيات أوسلو محدودة جدًا، وكلّ قرار تريد السلطة اتخاذه – مهما كان هامشيًّا وغير ذي شأن – يتطلّب موافقة السلطات الإسرائيلية، وإن عبّرت عن تلك الموافقة أحيانًا بالصمت. هنا أيضًا تنتقي الدولة فقط الادّعاءات التي تخدم غاياتها: واقع الاحتلال، الذي أنتجته إسرائيل وما زالت تعزّزه، معلوم لها جيدًا، وعمومًا هو يلائم مصالحها. ولكن، لكي تبرّر تملّصها من دفع التعويضات، تغيّر الدولة فجأة ادّعاءها فتصرّح أنّ مكانة السلطة مماثلة لمكانة دولة – وذلك دون أن تغيّر شيئًا في علاقتها ومعاملتها للسلطة وسكّانها.

معنى الحرمان من التعويضات

تعكس سياسة إسرائيل في كلّ ما يتعلّق بدفع التعويضات للمتضرّرين الفلسطينيين عمق استهتارها بالسكّان الفلسطينيين – بحياتهم، بسلامة أجسادهم، وبممتلكاتهم. وتوضح هذه السياسة أيضًا كيف ترى إسرائيل أنّ سيطرتها على السكّان الفلسطينيين لا تتبعها أيّة مسؤولية من طرفها تجاههم، لا في الضفة الغربية حيث هناك هي سلطة احتلال، ولا في قطاع غزة حيث تمارس سيطرتها هناك من الخارج. تمارس إسرائيل صلاحياتها السلطوية دون تردّد حين يخدم الأمر غاياتها، ولكن تلك الصلاحيات تتلاشى إذا اقترنت بمحاسبة ومساءلة إسرائيل على أفعالها.

التغييرات التي أجريت في التشريع وفي قرارات المحاكم يبرز أثرها بوضوح في المعطيات المتعلقة بدعاوى التعويضات التي قدّمها ضدّ الدولة فلسطينيون من سكّان الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة. يظهر في هذه المعطيات منحيان واضحان: الأوّل، انخفاض في عدد الدعاوى الجديدة المقدّمة للمحاكم. على سبيل المثال، من عام 2002 إلى عام 2006 قُدّمت دعاوى بمعدّل 300 (ثلاثمائة) كلّ سنة. وفي المقابل، بعد مرور عقد من السنين، بين عام 2012 وعام 2016 هبط معدّل الدعاوى المقدّمة إلى 18 كلّ سنة – أي إلى ما نسبته 6% فقط من دعاوى العقد الذي سبقه.

المنحى الثاني هو انخفاض المبالغ التي طولبت إسرائيل بدفعها في الدعاوى التي قدّمها فلسطينيون في المحاكم الإسرائيلية. على سبيل المثال، من عام 1997 إلى عام 2001 دفعت الدولة ما معدّله 21.6 مليون ش.ج تقريبًا في السنة – سواء كان ذلك في إطار تسويات متفق عليها، أم نتيجة لقرار حُكم أصدرته المحكمة. في المقابل، من عام 2012 إلى عام 2016 دفعت الدولة ما معدّله 3.8 مليون ش.ج في السنة – وهذا هبوط بنسبة أكثر من 80%. في السنوات نفسها يبرز على وجه الخصوص منحى انخفاض المبالغ التي دُفعت سنويًا جرّاء دعاوى قدّمها سكّان قطاع غزة: من معدّل 8.7 مليون ش.ج تقريبًا إلى معدّل 280 ألف ش.ج تقريبًا – أي هبوط بنسبة 97% (في دعاوى سكّان الضفة، انخفض المبلغ في السنوات نفسها من معدّل 12.7 مليون ش.ج تقريبًا، في السنة، إلى معدّل 3.5 مليون ش.ج تقريبًا – أي هبوط بنسبة 72%).

تحاول الدولة التقليل من أهمّية هذه المعطيات الواضحة والتي تشكّل شاهدًا على أثر التغييرات التي أجريت في التشريع، حتى إذا أدخلنا في الحسبان انخفاض عدد المصابين وتقلّص نطاق الأضرار نتيجة لانتهاء الانتفاضة الثانية. في ردّها على التماس ضدّ أحد التعديلات على القانون، ادّعت الدولة أن تقليص فرص الفلسطينيين لتلقّي التعويضات عن الأضرار اللاحقة بهم لا يمنع توجيه النقد إلى عمليات قوّات الأمن عبر إجراءات جنائية وإدارية.

ولكن حتى هذه الإجراءات التي تتباهى الدولة فيها غير قائمة. فما يحدث لدى توجيه النقد لممارسات السلطات الإسرائيلية في المناطق على المستوى الجنائي هو التالي: في معظم الحالات لا يستدعى أيّ طرف للمساءلة في أعقاب المسّ بحقوق الإنسان التي لسكّان المناطق المحتلة. فالسياسيّون معفيّون مسبقًا من المسؤولية، وليست هنالك أيّة هيئة تتقصّى أفعالهم وممارساتهم؛ وجهاز تطبيق القانون العسكري، المؤتمن على إجراءات جنائية وتأديبية في الجيش، يعمل في الواقع كجهاز طمس ومعظم الملفات تغلق دون التوصّل إلى شيء – وأصلاً، تُفتح غالبيّتها للتحقيق فقط في مسؤولية ذوي الرتب المنخفضة في الميدان وفقط في مخالفات هامشية.

هذه النتيجة لم تأتِ عبثًا ولا هي صدفة؛ إنّها ناجمة مباشرة عن نهج عمل جهاز تطبيق القانون العسكري. التحقيقات التي تقوم بها وحدة التحقيق في الشرطة العسكرية تجري بإهمال وكيفما اتُّفق، دون أيّ سعي حقيقيّ للتوصّل إلى الحقيقة، ودائمًا تقريبًا دون جمع أدلّة، إذ يتمّ فقط الاستماع إلى إفادات من جنود، وأحيانًا من فلسطينيين. في حالات كثيرة استُمعت الإفادات بعد مرور أشهر طويلة على الحادثة. كما أنّ المحقّقين لا يكلّفون أنفسهم عناء الالتفات إلى التناقضات في الإفادات، ولا عناء زَرّ الشهود والشدّ عليهم، وهم غالبًا جنود ضالعون في الحادثة. إلى ذلك، توعز النيابة العسكرية بإغلاق كثير من الملفات بدعوى "لا ذنْبَ له" (أي أنه لا أساس أصلاً للشبهات الموجّهة إليه)، وهي تتبنّى في كلّ الحالات تقريبًا رواية الجنود. إضافة إلى ملفّات أخرى كثيرة تُغلق بدعوى "عدم كفاية الأدلّة"، استنادًا إلى التحقيق الجزئي الذي قامت به وحدة التحقيقات في الشرطة العسكرية بإشراف النيابة.

أمّا توجيه النقد إلى ممارسات السلطات الإسرائيلية في المناطق على المستوى الإداري، فيأتي أساسًا من جهة المحكمة العليا، ومع ذلك لا نجد عزاءً في قرارات قضاة محكمة العدل العليا. صحيح أن المحكمة قد فتحت أبوابها أمام سكّان المناطق وأتاحت لهم فرصة الالتماس ضدّ سلطات الدولة، ولكنّ معظم هذه الالتماسات تُردّ. وطيلة السنين وضعت المحكمة العليا ختم "صالح وسليم" على كلّ انتهاك لحقوق الإنسان تقدّمت الدولة بطلب تنفيذه: هدم البيوت كإجراء عقابيّ، الاعتقالات الإدارية، تقييد حرّية الحركة والتنقّل، طرد سكّان، إقامة جدار الفصل، فرض الحصار على قطاع غزة، السيطرة على الأراضي، ترحيل تجمّعات بأكملها عن منازلها، تشتيت الأسَر – وهذه قائمة جزئية فقط.

هذا الواقع يتيح لإسرائيل إمكانيات تفعيل صلاحياتها السلطوية في الضفة الغربية وفي قطاع غزة، في حين لا يوجد طرف يضعها قيد المساءلة والمحاسبة على أفعالها: جهاز تطبيق القانون العسكري يطمس تلك الأفعال، المحكمة العليا تضفي طابعًا قانونيًا على انتهاك حقوق الإنسان التي للفلسطينيين، والدولة تؤمّن لنفسها إعفاءًا شبه تامّ من دفع التعويضات عن الأضرار التي تلحقها قوّات الأمن. غياب آليّات الردع والنقد يُبقى الطريق ممهّدًا أمام الانتهاكات الصارخة لحقوق الإنسان.

كان أحد الادّعاءات التي أسمعتها الدولة لتسويغ وتبرير رفضها دفع التعويضات للفلسطينيين، أن موضوع التعويضات ينبغي أن يُحلّ في إطار تسويات بين الطرفين لدى انتهاء النزاع. ولكن هذه الأقوال ليست سوى "جوز فارغ"، كما يُقال. كان من الممكن قبول هذا الادّعاء – ربّما – لو كان الأمر نزاعًا بين دولتين متحاربتين. ولكنّه احتلال، وهو يدخل الآن سنته الخمسين. دولة إسرائيل تعمل كلّ ما في وسعها لمنع انتهائه ولفرض حقائق على الأرض تمنع التوصّل إلى تسوية أيًّا كانت. عندما تقول إسرائيل إنّ عشرات آلاف المتضرّرين عليهم انتظار انتهاء "النزاع" ونتائج "المفاوضات" بين الطرفين، ذلك يعني أنّهم لن يحصلوا أبدًا على التعويضات.

الجهات الرسمية تفضّل ألاّ تقول الأمور بصورة صريحة ومباشرة. فبدلاً من اتّباع سبيل التشريع لأجل إعفاء نفسها من دفع التعويضات، كان بإمكان الدولة بكلّ بساطة أن تطرح الأمور كما هي فتعلن أنّها ترفض دفع التعويضات عن الأضرار التي تسبّبت فيها قوّاتها. وعلى غرار ذلك أيضًا، كان بإمكان الدولة أن تعلن مسبقًا أنها لا تعتزم إجراء تحقيقات جنائية في شبهات الاعتداء على الفلسطينيين. ومع ذلك، اختارت الاستمرار في حفظ جهاز زائف، متفرّع ومُكلف، راسمة بذلك صورة خادعة لجهاز "صالح وسليم".

يمكن لكلّ غبن أن يكون منصوصًا في قانون، ويمكن إقامة أجهزة تنتج عروضًا توهمنا أنّ ما تفعله هو تطبيق القانون. ولكن هذا كلّه لا ينجح في إخفاء الماهيّة الحقيقيّة لنظام الاحتلال، ولا في سَتر سُبل إسرائيل في التملّص من تحمّل مسؤوليات أفعالها وهي تمنح لنفسها "شيك على بياض" لتمارس عدوانيّة شديدة بحقّ الفلسطينيين الخاضعين لسلطتها، واضعة نفسها فوق المساءلة والمحاسبة – جنائية كانت أو إدارية أو مدنية.

Getting Off Scot-Free: Israel’s Refusal to Compensate Palestinians for Damages Caused by Its Security Forces

Getting Off Scot-Free: Israel’s Refusal to Compensate Palestinians for Damages Caused by Its Security Forces

Getting Off Scot-Free: Israel’s Refusal to Compensate Palestinians for Damages Caused by Its Security Forces

Summary, March 2017

From September 2000 – when the second intifada broke out – through February 2017, Israeli security forces killed 4,868 Palestinians who were not taking part in hostilities. About a third of them (1,793) were under the age of 18.

Faced with this reality, Israel guaranteed itself a nearly blanket exemption from the obligation to pay compensation for all this harm. The state does not offer Palestinians harmed by its security forces a genuine opportunity to file for damages in Israeli courts, offering them no more than the illusion of being able to do so. By broadening the legal definition of what constitutes “warfare activity” and inclusive construal of this term by the courts, on the one hand, and introducing a series of procedural and evidentiary restrictions in legislation and case law, on the other, Israel has rendered virtually nonexistent the chances of Palestinian plaintiffs getting compensation for the harm they suffered.

Paying compensation to persons who have suffered injury to themselves or their property is not an act of charity – it is the state’s obligation under international law. Not compensating Palestinian victims severely infringes upon their human rights as they are denied redress for violation of the basic rights to life, physical integrity and property. Denying the right to receive compensation is tantamount to a violation of the right in itself: the significance of human rights is not limited to merely having them entrenched in some law or international covenant. If no sanctions are enforced when human rights are breached, the rights become moot and the perpetrators have no incentive to institute a change in policy.

Background

The law stipulates that the state is liable for damages that are a result of negligence, but it exempts the state from paying compensation for acts performed during “warfare activity”. This exemption is based on the assumption that warfare entails risk and damages that are substantially different than those of everyday circumstances. As combat necessarily involves pressure and uncertainty, tort law is not suited to incidents that take place during war.

In the 1990s, during the first intifada and in its aftermath, residents of the Occupied Territories filed thousands of suits with Israeli courts, seeking compensation for damages caused them by Israeli security forces in circumstances that were not “warfare activity”. The complaints addressed damage resulting from a variety of sources, such as instances of unlawful gunfire (including those involving fatalities or injuries), destruction of property, extreme violence, torture during interrogations by the Israel Security Agency (ISA), and incidents in which ammunition or duds left behind in the field by the military later exploded. Suing for damages was a costly process for Palestinians, dragged out for many years and imposed a series of bureaucratic hurdles. As a result, Palestinians often chose to settle for lower sums that did not reflect the extent of harm they suffered.

In the mid-1990s, to avoid paying even these sums of money, the State of Israel began employing various measures to broaden the exemption from liability for damage its security forces caused Palestinians in the Occupied Territories. These efforts were stepped up after the second intifada broke out in 2000. Over the years, the Knesset amended legislation several times; and, on their own initiative, the courts broadened the state’s exemption from paying compensation. These changes almost completely eliminated the possibility of Palestinians receiving compensation for injury caused them by Israeli security forces, even in incidents entirely unrelated to combat, such as clear-cut policing activities, instances of looting or physical violence.

The state’s justifications for the exemption – refuted

The state cited three major justifications for its refusal to pay compensation to Palestinians harmed by Israeli security forces:  that the immunity from liability for “warfare activity” as provided by law and implemented by the courts is too narrow and does not take into account the nature of the first and second intifadas, and that as a result the state was obliged to pay compensation in cases which did not merit doing so; that it cannot fact-check the claims made by Palestinian plaintiffs and, in some cases, has absolutely no way to mount a defense; and that it is customary in armed conflict for “each party to assume the damage it incurs”; accordingly, the Palestinian Authority, like any other state, must shoulder the payment for damages sustained by Palestinians.

These arguments are unfounded. First, the exemption in law regarding “warfare activity” had been broadened over the years by the courts, even before legislative amendments were completed. Gradually, judges included more and more types of incidents under this definition, and in some instances chose in advance not to examine the circumstances in which the incident took place, not even the question of whether the soldiers were indeed in physical or mortal danger. Moreover, a good part of the actions of Israel’s security forces in the Occupied Territories has been – including during the first and second intifadas –  straightforward policing activity such as staffing checkpoints, making arrests, imposing and enforcing curfews, and dispersing demonstrations. Many Palestinians have been injured in the course of such activities, which are not combat actions. Therefore, there is no justification for exempting the state from paying damages for harm sustained during these activities.

Secondly, while some of the amendments enacted over the years and some of the court rulings were meant, ostensibly, to resolve the difficulties cited by the state, the state continued to refer to the same difficulties even after these amendments were enacted. Yet the main flaw in this argument is that it contradicts the position stated explicitly in other contexts, namely that Israel in fact diligently and successfully carries out effective criminal investigations in similar incidents in which soldiers are suspected of acting in contravention of the law. This is the state’s position notwithstanding that criminal investigations are far more complicated than the process of establishing facts in torts and that the criminal burden of proof is much higher. With regard to these investigations, the state boasts that is has managed to overcome those very difficulties. B’Tselem does not agree that such investigations are in fact conducted, yet it underscores the extent to which the state’s arguments are self-serving.  When Israel feels it to be in its best interests, it boasts of having an efficient military law enforcement system with effective investigative abilities for handling cases in which Palestinians were harmed by security forces in the Occupied Territories. Yet, when it finds it expedient, the state argues it cannot carry out this self-same task. 

Thirdly, Palestinians cannot be considered citizens of another state capable of compensating them and agreeing upon reparations with Israel. The situation at hand is not that of two equal parties at war, but rather a state of occupation. Even after the Oslo Accords Israel remains the occupying power in the West Bank. Consequently, Palestinians who live in the West Bank – including in East Jerusalem, which Israel officially annexed – are considered protected persons. Similarly, Israel still controls many aspects of daily life in the Gaza Strip even after the disengagement, and repeatedly wages military operations there. In view of these circumstances, Israel cannot reassign responsibility for the injuries it causes and act as though the Palestinian Authority were a sovereign state. The powers Israel handed over to the Palestinian Authority under the Oslo Accords are very limited; any decision by the Palestinian Authority – even on trivial matters – require tacit or explicit Israeli consent. Once again, this is a case of the state picking and choosing arguments to suit its purposes. Israel is well aware of the reality of occupation which it created and continues to maintain; as a rule, this reality is in keeping with state interests. However, to justify evading payment of compensation, the state is willing to change its tune and declare the Palestinian Authority has state-like status – all the while changing nothing in its actual treatment of the Palestinian Authority or its residents.

The implications of denying compensation

Israel’s policy on paying compensation to Palestinians who suffered harm reflects its profound contempt for the life, safety and property of Palestinians in the Occupied Territories. The state has also made it clear that, for its part, it bears no responsibility for the consequences of its control over the Palestinian population, both as the occupying power in the West Bank and as an external entity exerting control over the Gaza Strip. Israel’s powers as ruler, which it is quick to enforce when this serves its own purposes, vanish into thin air when it faces accountability for its actions.

The effects of the changes in legislation and in case law are evident in the figures the Ministry of Defense provided B’Tselem concerning compensation suits filed against the state by Palestinians from the West Bank and Gaza. The figures indicate two clear trends: First, fewer new claims are being filed with the courts. For example, 2002 to 2006 saw an annual average of 300 new lawsuits. In contrast, 2012 to 2016 saw an annual average of 18 claims –  a mere 6% of the average a decade earlier.

The second trend is of Israel paying less compensation to Palestinians. From 1997 to 2001, the state paid an annual average of 21.6 million shekels (approx. USD 5.7 million) – in settlements or purusant to a court verdict.  In contrast, from 2012 to 2016, Israel paid an average of about 3.8 million shekels (approx. USD 1 million) – a decline of more than 80% in comparison to the sums paid a decade earlier. The reduction in amounts paid to residents of Gaza during those periods is especially significant – from an average of 8.7 million shekels (approx. USD 2.3 million) a year to an average of about 280,000 shekels (approx. USD 74,000) a year, nearly 97% less. (In comparison, compensation for West Bank claimants dropped from an average of about 12.7 million shekels (approx. USD 3.3 million) to an average of about 3.5 million shekels (approx. USD 900,000) a year – approximately 72% less.)

The state has attempted to play down the significance of these undeniable figures which demonstrate the impact the amendments to Israel’s Torts Law have had, even taking into account fewer casualties and less damage once the second intifada was over. In its response to a High Court petition against one of the amendments, the state argued that the limits placed on Palestinians’ ability to get compensation for harm they sustained does not inhibit critique and review of the actions of the security forces, which are still available via criminal and administrative proceedings.

Yet these other proceedings that the state boasts of quite simply do not exist. In terms of criminal proceedings, in the vast majority of cases, no one is held accountable when the human rights of Palestinians in the Occupied Territories are violated. Government officials are shielded from responsibility a priori, with no state body supervising their actions. The military law enforcement system, which is in charge of criminal and disciplinary proceedings within the military, functions as a whitewashing mechanism. The vast majority of cases it handles – most of which, to begin with, address only the liability of lower ranking soldiers in the field and minor offenses – are closed without filing charges or any other measures taken.

This outcome is no accident; it is the direct result of the way in which the military law enforcement system operates. MPIU (Military Police Investigation Unit) investigations are sloppy, with no real attempt made to get at the truth and almost always without gathering evidence – other than statements from soldiers, and in some cases also from Palestinians. In many cases, statements are given months after the incident, and investigators do not bother to resolve contradicting accounts or press the witnesses, who are usually soldiers implicated in the incident. The MAG (Military Advocate General) Corps orders many cases closed on grounds of “absence of guilt”, almost always adopting the soldiers’ version of events. Many other cases are closed on grounds of “lack of evidence”, based on the partial MPIU investigation carried out under MAG Corps’ supervision.

Administrative review of the Israeli authorities’ actions in the Occupied Territories is primarily in the hands of Israel’s Supreme Court. However, scant comfort can be found in the judgments handed down by its justices. While the High Court of Justice has allowed residents of the Occupied Territories to file petitions against state authorities, the vast majority of these petitions has been denied. Over the years, the High Court has sanctioned almost every human rights violation that the state wished to carry out in the Occupied Territories: punitive home demolition, administrative detention, restricting freedom of movement, expelling Palestinians from the West Bank, building the Separation Barrier, imposing a blockade on Gaza, taking over land, removing entire communities from their land, separating families – to name but a few.

This reality enables Israel to exercise its powers in the West Bank and in the Gaza Strip, and there is no authority in place to hold it accountable for its actions: The military law enforcement system whitewashes offenses, the High Court gives a legal seal of approval for violating Palestinians’ human rights, and the state has guaranteed itself an all but absolute exemption from paying compensation to Palestinians injured by its security forces. In the absence of mechanisms that act to deter and regulate the state, the road to harsh violations of human rights lies wide open.

One of the justifications Israel cites for refusing to pay damages to Palestinians is that it is a matter that should be resolved as part of mutual arrangements to be reached once the conflict is ended. This argument offers no more than bitter irony. It might have been valid had the situation been one of conflict between two countries at war. Yet this year, 2017, marks fifty years since Israel began its occupation of the West Bank and the Gaza Strip. Israel is doing all in its power to prevent the end of the occupation and to establish facts on the ground that will prevent reaching any agreement with the Palestinians. Proposing that the tens of thousands of people injured during this half century wait for the occupation to end and for “negotiations” to be concluded is tantamount to assuring that they will never receive any compensation.

Israeli officials prefer not to make this explicit. After all, instead of using the avenue of legislation to ensure an exemption from compensating Palestinians, the state could simply have flatly refused to pay for damage caused by its troops. Similarly, the state could have declared that it has no intention of carrying out criminal investigations of suspected harm to Palestinians. Instead, Israel elected to maintain a vast, expensive faux system, while making a show of a functioning system.

There are few kinds of injustice that cannot be codified in law, and it is possible to establish systems that offer no more than a pretense of law enforcement. Yet it is impossible to fully conceal the reality of the occupation, including the measures that Israel takes to evade responsibility and ensure a sweeping exemption – with no legal, administrative, or civilian accountability – for violent harm to the Palestinians who live under its control.